7 Years since the SCOTUS ruling for marriage equality

James Governale
2 min readJun 28, 2022

Scotus nationwide ruling for marriage equality 2015

7 years later, I see this message of what I shared on social media when it happened:

Dear friends, while I’m super stoked for progress toward equality and I love the lightness & fun of liking rainbow filtered pictures, we all know that there won’t be only positivity & good “feels” moving ahead. I’m not meaning to be a downer, but feeling called to put some awareness of a larger picture out there. While I’m not even the biggest proponent of marriage to begin with (that’s a whole other post, ha!) yesterday’s events happen to be aligned with my beliefs and world view. Hence, providing me a feeling of positive emotion and a sense of progress for people and modern society. This is not the case for everyone, and moving forward I want to be empathetic of that reality.

There is term in psychology called cognitive dissonance, in which I believe many will be experiencing. It is the stress or discomfort experienced by an individual who holds two or more contradictory beliefs, ideas, or values at the same time, or is confronted by new information that conflicts with existing beliefs, ideas, or values. For many, the recent marriage equality ruling will appear as such confronting new information. Some will revisit previously existing beliefs and reformulate them…

--

--

James Governale

I’m a holistic health coach & writer living in Brooklyn, NY. I’m the creator of www.highheartwellness.com assisting others to reach desired health goals.